Eastcape Midlands TVET College

By Admin · Sep 18, 2023

Engineering programs and requirements at Eastcape Midlands TVET College 

Welcome to the Engineering Programs at Eastcape Midlands TVET College!

National Certificate (Vocational) 
This specialized National Certificate prepares you for your chosen career by providing both theoretical knowledge and practical skills. It's designed to address the skills shortage in our country.

Entry Requirements

To enroll, you'll need one of the following:

A year-end school report for Grade 11 or Grade 12 certificate
An NQF Level 1 qualification
An approved bridging program for accessing NQF Level 2
Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) assessment to meet basic NQF Level 2 requirements
Note: Grades 9 and 10 are considered only in exceptional cases.

Pass Requirements
Vocational subjects: 50% per subject
Fundamental subjects:
40% for English 1st Additional Language
40% for Life Orientation
30% for Mathematics / Mathematical Literacy

To earn a National Certificate (Vocational), you'll take a total of 7 subjects, including 3 fundamental and 4 vocational subjects. Certificates are issued by the National Department of Higher Education and Training in Pretoria after each level's completion.

For learners with a Grade 12 Certificate and a higher Certificate achievement, further studies at a TVET College for a National Diploma are possible. The Nated N4 – N6 Programs, also known as Alternative Post-school Programs, offer this opportunity.

Entry Requirements
NCOR (Bridging): Grade 9 / ABET Level 3
N1-N3: Grade 12 (varies by subject)
N4: N3 / Level 4
N5: N4
N6: N5
Note: Maths and Science are required for Engineering Programs, and NCOR Bridging is NOT offered at Park Avenue Campus.

Pass Requirements
N1-N6: 40% per subject
Government Ticket: 50% per subject

Certificates and Diplomas


Full-time: Four subjects daily for around 10 weeks.
Part-time: Two subjects twice weekly for approximately 10 weeks.
After 10 weeks, a National Examination is held (April, August, and November). Students passing all subjects receive a National Certificate in their specific field, issued by the National Department of Higher Education and Training in Pretoria.


After completing N6 and gaining 2 years of relevant practical experience, students qualify for a National N-Diploma. A total of 12 subjects are required across N4, N5, and N6 levels, with at least 2 N6 subjects relevant to the candidate's vocation. National N Diplomas are approved and issued by the National Department of Higher Education and Training in Pretoria.

Programs Offered

NCV (Level 2-4)
Information Technology and Computer Science
Electrical Infrastructure Construction
Engineering and Related Design
Practical Skills Training
National Certificate: Multi-Disciplinary Drawing Office Practice
Pre-vocational Learning Programme (PLP)

Civil Engineering
Motor Electrical
Motor/Diesel Mechanic
Fitting and Machining
Electrical Trade

Share on


No comments yet.
Click here to contact us on WhatsApp